The Ha’wiih Council

The Ha’wiih Council is integrated by the Hereditary Chiefs who represent seven houses. They provide the Huu-ay-aht Government with advice and take care of protocol during cultural events.

Its current members are:

  • Derek Peters (Tliishin) – ʔApwinisatḥʔ
  • Jeff Cook (Yaalthuu-a)- Yaałuuwaštak̕amałtḥ
  • Victor Williams (Waiḥeyakchik)- ƛamahuus
  • Andy Clappis (Siichaachisht’uulth) – Kuukw’iis
  • Tom Happynook (Hupinyuk) – Čačaaḥsiʔas
  • Bill Frank (ƛ̕aacmiik)
  • Darlene Nookemus (ʔemptiss) – Ḥaw’eḥtak’amłatḥ


According to the Constitution Act:

2.13 There shall be constituted an advisory body to the Huu-ay-aht First Nations Council
composed of the Huu-ay-aht Ha’wiih, to be known as the Ha’wiih Council.

2.14 Representation on the Ha’wiih Council shall be determined in accordance with
customary practices.

2.15 Prior to passing any laws, the Huu-ay-aht First Nations Council must seek and consider

any advice from the Ha’wiih Council.

2.16 In addition to the role contemplated in 2.15, the Ha’wiih Council shall assume those

additional roles and responsibilities contemplated in this Constitution.

Constitution act

Huu-ay-aht First Nations
page 9


No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: