The Ha’wiih Council

The Ha’wiih Council is integrated by the Hereditary Chiefs who represent seven houses. They provide the Huu-ay-aht Government with advice and take care of protocol during cultural events.

Its current members are:

  • Ta’yii Ha’wiilth Derek Peters (ƛ̕iišin )
  • Jeff Cook  
  • Victor Williams 
  • Andy Clappis 
  • Tom Happynook 
  • Bill Frank 
  • Benson Nookemis 
  • Darlene Nookemus 

One of their goals for 2015 is to have a regular meeting schedule.

According to the Constitution Act:

2.13 There shall be constituted an advisory body to the Huu-ay-aht First Nations Council
composed of the Huu-ay-aht Ha’wiih, to be known as the Ha’wiih Council.

2.14 Representation on the Ha’wiih Council shall be determined in accordance with
customary practices.

2.15 Prior to passing any laws, the Huu-ay-aht First Nations Council must seek and consider

any advice from the Ha’wiih Council.

2.16 In addition to the role contemplated in 2.15, the Ha’wiih Council shall assume those

additional roles and responsibilities contemplated in this Constitution.

Constitution act

Huu-ay-aht First Nations
page 9