Executive Council receives new portfolios following the by-election 2022

Following the swearing-in of newly elected Councillor Brad Johnson, Huu-ay-aht Chief Councillor Robert J. Dennis Sr. announces new portfolios for Executive Council. 

Effective Tuesday, March 1, 2022, the elected Executive Council will hold their new portfolios as follows:

  • Economic Development Committee – John Jack
  • ACRD – John Jack
  • Finance Committee – Trevor Cootes 
  • External Affairs – Trevor Cootes 
  • Citizenship Committee – Edward R. Johnson 
  • Citizen Development and Services – Edward R. Johnson
  • Specific Claims – Edward R. Johnson
  • Business Development – Duane Nookemis
  • Lands & Natural Resources – Duane Nookemis
  • Housing and Infrastructure – Brad Johnson
  • Treaty Implementation Committee – Robert Dennis Sr., Tayii Ḥaw̓ił ƛiišin (Derek Peters), and Brad Johnson

 Under their new portfolios, Executive Council will hold its first meeting Wednesday, March 2, 2022.

Public Notice of 2017/18 Financial Plan

Executive Council Statement

With a new Strategic Plan (2017-2019) in place, 2016 was an exciting year for Huu-ay-aht. The newly formed government worked hard to meet the commitments it outline in the strategic plan, while committing to fiscal responsibility. Together with Ḥaw̓iiḥ Council, we worked diligently to build a stronger Huu-ay-aht, focusing on what is in the best interests of our citizens and future generations. We set out strong priorities for the next three years of healing our ḥahuułi and bringing our people home.

To read more, see the 2017-2018 Financial Plan