Our Latest News

Bamfield Main Road Update – September 19, 2023

Bamfield Main Resurfacing Project Header

Crews are starting grade preparation and chip sealing this week at kilometres 0 to 4. This will require vehicles to follow a pilot vehicle at this section. Delays are estimated to be a maximum of 15 minutes.

There are also some places where crews will work in zones along kilometres 0 to 36. Workers will be grading, sweeping, and placing chip seals. Please stay alert to pilot vehicles, road signs, and speed limits.


Huu-ay-aht has had a number of concerns brought to their attention in regards to vehicles speeding and putting other road users at risk, specifically around narrow sections of the road. Please be aware of the road signage and obey the speed limit of 60 km/hr. The Bamfield Main is still an active industrial logging road and road users are travelling on the Bamfield Main at their own risk. To ensure safety for everyone, please slow down.

Be aware and watch for construction equipment, flaggers, crews are on the road, and follow pilot vehicles.  

The RCMP will be monitoring for safe driving throughout the project and detour.

Please drive with your headlights on and drive with extreme caution.

You can also find road updates on our Social Media at: https://www.facebook.com/HuuayahtFN 

Child and Family Wellness hosts 2023 Baby Welcoming Ceremony

Huu-ay-aht First Nations Child and Family Wellness Team welcomed Huu-ay-aht babies on Friday, September 15, at the Lawn Bowling Club in Port Alberni, BC.

During the ceremony, families were gifted rattles, headbands, blankets made by ʔiič̓im (Elder) Barb Johnson, and baby books. Huu-ay-aht Culture Team, Cory Howard Sr. and Mel Edwards, and ḥaw̓ił Jeff Cook taught the families a cultural baby lullaby. 11 out of 15 families were in attendance.

The ceremony brought much laughter, cheer, and connection for all. Huu-ay-aht First Nations Child and Family Wellness Team would like to wish families and newborns many thanks for attending and sharing their new journeys with them and hope for ongoing connections in the future.

Huu-ay-aht First Nations Announces Old-Growth Interim Report


(Port Alberni – September 7, 2023) – Huu-ay-aht First Nations announces completion of an Old-Growth Interim Report that outlines the work completed to date on an Indigenous-led integrated stewardship approach to ecosystem health and biodiversity, including old-growth forests. 

In partnership with Huu-ay-aht Forestry Limited Partnership, C̓awak ʔqin Forestry, Mosaic Forest Management, the Old-Growth Interim Report is a step towards finalizing the Hišuk ma c̓awak Integrated Resource Management Plan (HIRMP). The HIRMP integrates a full range of values and stewardship measures across the entire Huu-ay-aht Ḥahuułi (Traditional Territory).

As part of the HIRMP, the partners developed a draft design of the M̓aƛasap (to take a bite out of) Network that integrates old forests, riparian habitat, rare ecosystems, wildlife habitat and features, and cultural and traditional use areas to maintain connectivity across the Ḥahuułi. 

Through the M̓aƛasap Network, 19,819 hectares of old and recruitment forests were identified to align with important values within Huu-ay-aht Ḥahuułi – 13,450 hectares being 250 years or older, and the remaining 6,360 hectares part of a long-term recruitment strategy.

Guided by the best science and data available, and Huu-ay-aht’s values and principles, the interim report identifies over double the amount of old-growth forests and rare ecosystems in the Ḥahuułi than what was established by the Old-Growth Technical Advisory Panel (TAP).

The HIRMP and Old-Growth Interim Report demonstrates the importance and value of taking a collaborative and holistic approach to implementing land and resource management that aligns with Huu-ay-aht values and its three sacred principles: ʔiisaak (Utmost Respect), ʔuuʔałuk (Taking Care of), Hišuk ma c̓awak (Everything is One).

The Hišuk ma c̓awak Integrated Resource Management Plan will be complete by March 2024.


“Hišuk ma c̕awak Integrated Resource Management Plan (HIRMP) represents the present and future needs of the ecosystems within the Huu-ay-aht ḥahuułi. Its namesake sacred principle, Hišuk ma c̕awak, acknowledges the many interconnected aspects considered and incorporated into the plan. We continue to ensure we are managing our lands in a sustainable way, so it is there for the next 7 generations.  To do this, we value the partnerships we have that help us manage our lands and waters”.

– Huu-ay-aht Executive Councillor, Brad Johnson (Wiiheyakchikk)

“We are making significant progress together in the development of the Hišuk ma c̕ awak Integrated Resource Management Plan. The work underway considers present and future needs to ensure lasting benefits for generations to come and we look forward to continuing to contribute to the progress made through this innovative planning process led by the Huu-ay-aht First Nations.”

– General Manager, C̓awak ʔqin Forestry, Geoff Payne

“Western is proud to support the development and implementation of the Huu-ay-aht-led Hišuk ma c̕ awak Integrated Resource Management Plan. With each step forward, we are pioneering a collaborative and integrated approach to ecosystem health and biodiversity that draws on local understanding, data, and technology to achieve our collective values.”

– RPF, Chief Forester, Western Forest Products, Stuart Glen

“Our relationship with Huu-ay-aht is built on a strong commitment to collaboration. The HIRMP demonstrates the immense value of partnerships for a coordinated and modernized approach to collaborative land-use planning”.

– Senior Vice President, Corporate Engagement and Chief Development Officer, Domenico Iannidinardo


Old-Growth Interim Report, click here to view.

For official press release, click here to view.


Oomiiqsu (Aboriginal Mother Centre) – Update August 28 – September 1, 2023


  • Poured basement foundation walls.
  • Stripped basement foundation walls.
  • Continued forming main building footings and foundation walls.


  • Pour footings for main building on south side.
  • Form stepped foundation walls.
  • Continue forming main building footings and walls.
  • Install rebar in main building footings and walls.
  • Install main electrical under footing conduit into electrical room.

Photos by IWCD