Preliminary Election Results – 2019

Huu-ay-aht First Nations has selected its Executive Council for the next four years.

Robert J. Dennis Sr. will return as Chief Councillor with 137 votes.

The councillors who will take the five seats are John Jack (132), Edward R. Johnson (102), Trevor Cootes (97), Charlie Clappis (95) and Connie Waddell (85).

In Port Alberni, 96 citizens cast their ballots. There were 129 mail-in ballots received in Port Alberni. In Anacla, 46 cast their vote in person, with 27 mail-in ballots collected. One ballot was rejected during the count, and 16 of the mail-in ballots were invalid, mostly due to a lack of the voter declaration form.

For the full preliminary results go to 2019 Election Results

For more information, contact Kit Spence, Election Commissioner, at1-250-881-0142 or by email at

2019 Election information

Preliminary Result 2019 Election

Live-stream of All-Candidates Meeting in Port Alberni

Live-stream of All-Candidates Meeting in Anacla

2019 Elections Q & A

Information Packages for Candidates (Mailout information)

Live-Stream of All-Candidates Meeting in Nanaimo

Live-stream of All-Candidates Meeting in Vancouver

Notice of All-Candidate Meetings in Vancouver, Victoria, Nanaimo

Notice of Elections for Chief Councillor and Five Councillors 2019

Elections 2019 – Candidate List

Notice Regarding Criminal Record Checks

Notice of Posting of Voters List – April 18, 2019

Notice of Nominations 2019

Nomination Package 2019

Oath of office for Elections Commissioner – Kit Spence 2019

2019 Election Timetable